HOME / NEWS / Gaming

Directive 8020 Adds Online Multiplayer on PS5 for Halloween

By Rockstar Media Editorial · · Original Source ↗
Directive 8020 Adds Online Multiplayer on PS5 for Halloween
Directive 8020 Adds Online Multiplayer on PS5 for Halloween

Directive 8020 Adds Five-Player Online Co-Op in Free Halloween Update

Directive 8020 is Supermassive Games' sci-fi entry in The Dark Pictures Anthology, a cinematic narrative horror title on PS5. A free late-October 2026 update retrofits online multiplayer for up to five players, each owning a separate copy of the game. Two control-sharing modes — Custom and Round Robin — plus in-scene group voting turn the solo thriller into a remote party game.

For Malaysian and Southeast Asian players, the update removes the couch requirement from a genre built on shared panic. Provided every participant owns the title, holds an active PS Plus subscription for PS5 online play, and can align schedules across MYT (UTC+8), a five-person session is now viable without importing hardware, arranging a living-room LAN, or coordinating a single shared console.

The free update is a digital-only patch on PS5 and adds no new story chapter — its content is online co-op, 13 collectable premonitions, and cosmetic customisation DLC.

Key Facts

Directive 8020's Halloween update is a free PS5 patch converting a single-player narrative horror title into a five-player online experience, bundled with 13 new collectable premonitions and separate customisation DLC. No Malaysian SRP, patch version number, or file size was disclosed in the source material.

AttributeValue
TitleDirective 8020
SeriesThe Dark Pictures Anthology
DeveloperSupermassive Games
PublisherNot specified in source material
PlatformsPS5 (confirmed); PS5 Pro enhancements reported separately via PSSR 2 upscaler
Update Release WindowLate October 2026 (Halloween timing per source publication)
Update CostFree
Online Player CountUp to 5 players; one copy of the game required per player
Online ModesCustom Mode, Round Robin Mode, plus group voting on story choices
New Content13 collectable premonitions; character customisation DLC (outfits)
Price (RM / USD / JPY)Not disclosed in source; no official Malaysian SRP confirmed. For reference only, a USD 69.99 PS5 title converts to roughly RM315 at ~RM4.50/USD — this is an illustrative conversion, not a confirmed price
Physical Edition StatusNot confirmed in source; the update is a digital patch and cannot be delivered on disc
Language SupportNot specified in source material
Region CompatibilityPS5 discs are region-free; PS Store purchases and wallet top-ups remain region-locked to the account's registered country

How Does Five-Player Online Multiplayer Work in Directive 8020?

The update lets up to five players who each own Directive 8020 play the narrative campaign remotely, with control of the active character passing between participants. Two systems govern the handover: Custom Mode, where players lock in a character at the outset, and Round Robin Mode, which rotates control at fixed intervals regardless of who is on screen.

In Custom Mode, every player selects a character before the session begins. Control then swaps automatically whenever the narrative shifts focus to a different character — meaning a player who picks a minor role may sit out extended stretches while another runs a long scene. Round Robin Mode discards character selection entirely and cycles control between players at set intervals, guaranteeing each participant a turn within a predictable timeframe. Groups wanting guaranteed screen time should default to Round Robin; groups wanting authored ownership of a specific survivor should use Custom.

At certain decision points, online sessions add a voting layer. All connected players cast a vote on which choice to make. The group can reach a consensus, or individual players can vote against the grain and watch which option wins out — a mechanic that deliberately preserves the series' signature capacity for a disastrous collective decision.

Custom Mode assigns control by character focus, while Round Robin Mode rotates control between players at fixed intervals — the two systems are mutually exclusive per session.

What Else Does the Halloween Update Include?

Beyond multiplayer, the patch adds 13 new collectable premonitions — the series' short prophetic vision clips — which the source states may help players get through the story a little more easily. A separate customisation DLC adds new outfits for the cast, letting players re-kit characters cosmetically.

The premonition count is the only hard content figure attached to the update: 13 new collectables, inserted into existing environments. Because premonitions in The Dark Pictures Anthology function as both lore fragments and foreshadowing of upcoming hazards, adding 13 to an existing campaign changes exploration incentives across the whole runtime rather than adding a discrete new chapter. The customisation DLC is described as DLC rather than part of the free patch, though the source does not state whether it carries a charge.

The source dispatch's own assessment of the base game was qualified rather than enthusiastic, and it framed the multiplayer retrofit as a potential rescue route rather than a straightforward expansion.

"We weren't super hot on Directive 8020 at launch, but perhaps playing it in online multiplayer would prove a more enjoyable way to experience the story."

— Push Square, source dispatch, October 2026

The free update adds exactly 13 new collectable premonitions alongside online co-op, with character outfits delivered as separate customisation DLC.

Does Directive 8020 Take Advantage of PS5 Pro?

Yes, according to a separate Push Square report referenced in the source material, which states Directive 8020 promises sharper visuals using the PS5 Pro's updated PSSR 2 upscaler. The exact resolution targets, frame-rate modes and patch number for that enhancement were not disclosed in the source text, so no performance figures can be confirmed here.

For Southeast Asian buyers weighing a PS5 Pro against a base PS5, the practical question is whether the upscaler gains justify the premium on a narrative horror title where atmospheric lighting and facial detail carry most of the visual load. The source material confirms the PSSR 2 claim at headline level only. Malaysian buyers should treat the Pro enhancement as a documented but unquantified benefit until Supermassive publishes a performance breakdown.

Directive 8020 is confirmed to support PS5 Pro's updated PSSR 2 upscaler for sharper visuals, though no resolution or frame-rate figures were published in the source material.

Southeast Asia & Malaysian Collector Verdict

Malaysian players should treat this as a digital-first proposition. The update arrives as a free PS5 patch, which means a physical disc bought locally or imported via Play-Asia still requires a download to access online co-op — the disc alone will not carry the multiplayer build. There is no confirmed Asian multi-language physical SKU for this update in the source material.

On cost, the source discloses no Malaysian SRP, no USD figure and no JPY figure for Directive 8020, so any ringgit estimate is a straight conversion rather than a local retail price. Buyers should check the Malaysian PS Store listing directly, since regional digital pricing in RM typically undercuts an import disc once shipping and 8% service tax on imported goods are factored in. PS5 discs remain region-free, so a Japanese or Asian copy will boot on a Malaysian console; the constraint is language support, which the source does not confirm either way. Where an Asian English-subtitled SKU exists, Play-Asia is the standard route for collectors who want shelf presence — but verify the subtitle list on the product page before committing, because Supermassive titles have shipped with region-variable language options.

One operational note for groups: PS5 online multiplayer generally requires an active PS Plus subscription, and a five-player session means five subscriptions, five copies and five stable connections. That is a materially higher barrier than a couch session. Regional sentiment on the base game has been blunt — one widely echoed reader comment on the source article reads, "The biggest issue with the game is it's just not very good" — so Malaysian buyers unsure about the campaign should weigh the multiplayer patch as a possible fix rather than an assumed one.

Buying a physical PS5 disc does not deliver the online multiplayer update offline — the co-op build is a compulsory digital download regardless of region or SKU.

Common Questions

Does every player need their own copy of Directive 8020 for online multiplayer?

Yes. The source confirms a copy of the game is required per player for the five-player online mode. There is no shared-copy, pass-the-pad or screen-share option described in the update.

What is the difference between Custom Mode and Round Robin Mode?

Custom Mode has all players select a character at the start, with control swapping based on which character the story focuses on. Round Robin Mode skips character selection and rotates control between players at set intervals.

Is the Directive 8020 Halloween update free?

Yes, the update adding online multiplayer and the 13 new premonitions is free. Character outfits arrive as separate customisation DLC, and the source does not state whether that DLC is paid.

Sources and Methodology

This dispatch is derived from a single primary source: Push Square's news report "In Time for Halloween, Directive 8020 Adds Online Multiplayer in Major Update on PS5," published October 2026 at pushsquare.com. Supplementary details on PS5 Pro PSSR 2 support were taken from a linked Push Square news item referenced within that page. No publisher press release or storefront listing was available in the source material.

Verification date: October 2026. Pricing methodology: no official Malaysian, US or Japanese price appeared in the source, so no price has been asserted. The only currency figure quoted — USD 69.99 to approximately RM315 — is an illustrative conversion using an approximate market rate, explicitly not a confirmed retail price for this title. Player counts, mode descriptions and content quantities are reproduced exactly as stated in the source; no figures have been aggregated, averaged or extrapolated. Supermassive Games did not issue an attributed spokesperson quote within the source material, so the blockquote above is attributed to the publishing outlet rather than the studio, and no developer statement has been fabricated.

Network · latest from the sister sites

From the network

FILED UNDER
#Gaming #PlayStation
IMPORT INTELLIGENCE

Track Malaysian Import Prices Live

Importing Japanese or Asian physical games to Malaysia? We compute live MYR landed costs, track Play-Asia stock, and audit custom tax thresholds.